Schedule of Programs

Spring 2019 Printable Schedule

Monday, January 28, 2019

Extractive Zones + Decolonial Praxis
Macarena Gómez-Barris, Pratt Institute
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Wesley Lecture
Church of the Wild: A New and Old Way of Experiencing Spirituality
Beth Norcross, The Center for Spirituality in Nature
Stern Center, Great Room, 7 p.m.

Monday, February 4, 2019

The Bruce R. Andrews Lecture
Why People Believe Conspiracy Theories
Joanne Miller, University of Delaware
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019 *

The Morgan Lecture & MLK Jr. Symposium
Understanding the Impact of Modern Day Segregation
Nikole Hannah-Jones, award-winning investigative reporter for The New York Times Magazine
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

Resilience for All: Striving for Equity Through Community-Driven Design
Barbara Brown Wilson, University of Virginia
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, February 12, 2019 *

Part of Love Your Body Week
YoungGiftedandFat: From Liberation to Creation
Sharrell Luckett,scholar & performance artist
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Dominican Blackness, Ghosting, and Bad Patriots
Dixa Ramírez, Brown University
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 22, 2019

Part of the Tournées Film Festival
Film Showing: Ouvrir la Voix (Speak Up/Make Your Way)
Amandine Gay
, filmmaker
Althouse Hall, Room 106, 5:45 p.m.

Thursday, February 28, 2019 *

Unveiling America: Addressing Issues of Contemporary Homelessness
Panel Discussion
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5, 2019 *

Love, Loss, and the Fight for Trans Equality
Sarah McBride, activist
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

An Evening with Writer Linda Hogan
Linda Hogan, poet and novelist
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 *

Uncivil Agreement: How Politics Became Our Identity
Lilliana Mason, University of Maryland, College Park
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 26, 2019 *

Gender, Religion, and Violence
Panel Discussion
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Mixed Race Saviors?: Learning from Latin American Racial Politics
Panel Discussion
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Soil Degradation as an Indicator of Global Change
José-Damian Ruiz-Sinoga, University of Malaga
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Monday, April 15, 2019Event to be Rescheduled to Fall 2019 or Spring 2020

Freedom Farmers: Agricultural Cooperatives and Building Community Wellness
Monica White, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Jack & Jill
Mark Blashford, Lanky Yankee Puppet Co.
The Cubiculo, 7 p.m.

Denotes programs that are part of the semester theme: Sustainability
* Denotes programs that are part of the Clarke Forum’s Leadership in an Age of Uncertainty Series