Schedule of Programs

Spring 2018 Printable Schedule

Monday, January 29, 2018 *

The Glover Memorial Lecture
Einstein, Black Holes and Gravitational Waves
Gabriela González, Louisiana State University
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Donald Trump, Race, and the Crisis of American Democracy
Christopher S. Parker, University of Washington, Seattle
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Food Access and Poverty
Alyssa Feher, Tapestry of Health
Becca Raley ’94, Partnership for Better Health
Risa Waldoks ’12, The Food Trust
Robert Weed ’80, Project Share
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Program is Part of Love Your Body Week (LYBW)
The Adipositivity Project
Substantia Jones, founder and photographer, The Adipositivity Project
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 16, 2018

Program is Part of Love Your Body Week (LYBW)
I’m Smiling Because I’m Uncomfortable
Emma Howard, performer and writer
Adams Hall, Basement Kitchen, 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 *

The Strange Career of the Jim Crow North: A Dickinson Story?
Komozi Woodard ’71, Sarah Lawrence College
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Pink Precariat: LGBT Workers in the Shadow of Civil Rights
Margot Canaday, Princeton University
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

The 1001 Black Men Online Sketchbook and the Art of Social Justice
Ajuan Mance
, Mills College
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Program
Topic: TBD
Stephen Walt, Harvard University
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

An Evening with Yoko Tawada
Yoko Tawada, award-winning writer
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 *

Seeing = Believing?
Eitan Grinspun, Columbia University
Steven Malcic, Dickinson College
Tabitha Peck, Davidson College
Graham Roberts, The New York Times
Gregory Steirer (moderator), Dickinson College
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Latinx: The Future is Now
Nicole Guidotti-Hernández, University of Texas in Austin
Stern Center, Great Room, 7 p.m.

Monday, April 16, 2018

Violent Borders: The State vs. the Right to Move
Reece Jones, University of Hawaii
Stern Center, Great Room, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Reducing the Global Burden of Dementia: The First Alzheimer’s Survivors
Dale Bredesen, UCLA and Buck Institute
Anita Tuvin Schlechter Auditorium, 7 p.m.

Denotes programs that are part of the semester theme: Citizen/Refugee
* Denotes programs that are part of the Clarke Forum’s Leadership in an Age of Uncertainty Series